Muntinlupa’s 102nd Founding Anniversary Celebrated

On the afternoon of December 19, the City Government of Muntinlupa celebrated the 102nd Founding Anniversary of Muntinlupa with special activities at the Muntinlupa Sports Complex in Barangay Tunasan.

Among the most notable activities was Mayor Jaime Fresnedi’s awarding of plaques of recognition to outstanding citizens who made an impact on the fields of public service, academics and sports.

For sports, it turned out that Muntinlupa is home to nine Philippine Team members who won medals in the 2019 Southeast Asian Games (2019 SEA Games) which our nation hosted to much success. It is also notable that Muntinlupa hosted the SEA Games badminton tournaments while the SEA Games obstacle course race events were held at Filinvest City.

In celebration of Muntinlupa’s 102nd Founding Anniversary, the local government fetes Muntinlupa 2019 SEA Games medalists along with other outstanding citizens. Mayor Jaime Fresnedi (3rd from right) awarded plaques of recognition to Muntinlupa athletes who snagged medals in the 2019 SEA Games last December 19 at Muntinlupa Sports Complex, Tunasan. Shown in the photo: (L-R) Congressman Ruffy Biazon, Kodo Nakano (Bronze, Judo), Keisei Nakano (Bronze, Judo), Shugen Nakano (Gold Medalist, Judo), Daryl Mercado (Bronze, Judo), Ryssa Jezzel Sanchez (Silver, Arnis), Rick Jayson Constantino Senales (Bronze, Kurash and Judo), Vice-mayor Temy Simundac, and City Administrator Engr. Allan Cachuela. (photo released by City Government of Muntinlupa – PIO)

The Muntinlupa-based SEA Games medalists who received honors and shared the stage with the Mayor, Vice Mayor Temy Simundac, Congressman Ruffy Biazon and City Administrator Engr. Allan Cachuela were Kodo Nakano (Bronze, Judo), Keisei Nakano (Bronze, Judo), Shugen Nakano (Gold Medalist, Judo), Daryl Mercado (Bronze, Judo), Ryssa Jezzel Sanchez (Silver, Arnis), and Rick Jayson Constantino Senales (Bronze, Kurash and Judo).

The other city athletes who made the honor list were Francis Casey Alcantara and Jeson Patrombon (Gold, Tennis Doubles) Jaime Delange (Gold, Skateboarding) and Jeson Patrombon (Bronze, Tennis Singles).

The above SEA Games medalists will soon receive incentives from the City Government.

On the field of public service, those who were honored were National Academy of Science and Technology of the Philippines Outstanding Scientist Dr. Nathaniel P. Hermosa II, IdeasxMachina CEO and Malaking Muntinlupa Foundation founder Clemente C. Domingo III, Metropolitan Waterworks & Sewerage System (MWSS) Administrator Lt. Gen. Emmanuel B. Salamat (ret.), former Muntinlupa Mayor Ignacio R. Bunye, Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas Deputy Governor Francisco G. Dakila Jr. (represented by Maura Dakila), and Department of Transportation (DOTR) Sec. Arthur P. Tugade.

For academics, the Muntinlupa residents who were honored for being ranked as top-notchers in various board and bar examinations were Coun. Jun Metong Sevilla representing Atty. Patricia Sevilla (Top 7, 2018 Bar Examinations), Mrs. Gail Turner Diaz representing Engr. James Christian Turner Diaz (Top 4, 2019 Electrical Engineer Board Exam) and Atty. Sean James Borja (Top 1, 2018 Bar examinations).

Apart from being the home city of tremendous achievers, Muntinlupa also had more reasons to celebrate big time. The city is also one of the nation’s leading investment hubs. Mayor Fresnedi emphasized the town’s progress to its people which called as Muntinlupa’s greatest resource. Also highlighted were the City Government’s sustainability initiatives and commitment to prioritize programs for education.

“As we journey through the second century of Muntinlupa, the local government will continue to invest in sustainable programs, focusing on the education of Muntinlupeños, to position the city and its people to greater heights,” Fresnedi said.

For historical perspective, Muntinlupa gained its independent status as a municipality in the year 1917 through Executive Order 108 issued by Governor General Francis Burton Harrison. Today, it has transformed as a Highly Urbanized City with nine equally progressive barangays and a population of 504,509.

Muntinlupa has been recognized as a model LGU (local government unit) in the country and garnered several awards and citations from various governing bodies including the Seal of Good Governance from DILG in 2015 and 2019, Seal of Child-Friendly Local Governance from Regional Committee for Welfare of Children in 2017-2019, Red Orchid Award in 2018 and 2019, Jose Rizal Award in 2017-2019, Most Business-Friendly City Award in 2001, 2002, 2017, and 2018, Green Banner Award and Outstanding LGU in Nutrition Program Management in 2018, MERALCO Luminaries Award in 2018, Government Efficiency and Resilience Award (3rd Place) from National Competitiveness Council in 2017 and 2018, respectively; and Union Internationale des Transports Publics Awards in 2017, among others.

With the way things are going, Muntinlupa’s strong progressive drive as a highly competitive city of the Philippines (and arguably as the leading city of progress of South Metro Manila) will only keep on moving forward.

2 thoughts on “Muntinlupa’s 102nd Founding Anniversary Celebrated

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s