One Muntinlupa dominates local elections, winners proclaimed

Very soon, the City of Muntinlupa will have a new mayor and a new congressman as a result of the dominance of the One Muntinlupa unity party in the recent local elections, according to the details of a Manila Bulletin news report. The winners have been proclaimed by the Commission on Elections (COMELEC).

To put things in perspective, posted below is the excerpt from the Manila Bulletin news report. Some parts in boldface…

Ruffy Biazon is the new mayor of Muntinlupa, Jaime Fresnedi is the new congressman, and incumbent Vice Mayor Artemio Simundac got reelected as their One Muntinlupa councilors made a clean sweep of the election on May 9.

Re-elected Muntinlupa City Vice Mayor Artemio Simundac, Mayor-elect Ruffy Biazon and Congressman-elect Jaime Fresnedi showed their certificates on the day they got proclaimed. (photo source – Muntinlupa PIO)

The City Board of Canvassers (CBOC) proclaimed the winners of the election in Muntinlupa City on May 10 at the session hall of the Sangguniang Panlungsod at the city hall complex.

Official results from the City Board of Canvassers showed Biazon, the incumbent congressman, garnered a total of 189,742 votes to win as mayor against Red Mariñas, who received 60,434 votes, or a margin of 120,308 votes. Nelson Benjamin got 1,153 votes while Oscar Marmeto received 1,069.

For congressman, Fresnedi, the incumbent mayor, won with total votes of 183,085 against Silverio Garing’s 52,530, or a margin of 130,555 votes.

Artemio Simundac won another term, winning the election with 131,882 votes, a lead of 34,315 votes against Oyo Boy Dioko who got 97,567.

Meanwhile, all 16 councilors of One Muntinlupa in Districts 1 and 2 won.

All the winners in one grand group picture. (photo source – Muntinlupa PIO)

The elected new councilors in District 1 are One Muntinlupa’s Raul Corro, Alexson Diaz, Paty Katy Boncayao, Rachel Arciaga, Ivee Arciaga, Allan Camilon, Jedi Presnedi and Ting Niefes.

Winning as councilors in District 2 are One Muntinlupa bets Lester Baes, Ryan Bagatsing, Luvi Constantino, Metong Sevilla, Marissa Rongavilla, Arlene Hilapo, Eliot Martinez and Dado Moldez.

The above report ended stating that over 250,000 local registered voters took part in the recent elections. Muntinlupa’s overall registered voter count is over 300,000.

With regards to the national elections, a majority of Muntinlupa City voters elected Bongbong Marcos and Sara Duterte as President and Vice President respectively. For the Philippine Senate, the number one candidate was Loren Legarda.

Let me end this piece by asking you readers: If you are a Muntinlupa City resident, what is your reaction to One Muntinlupa’s complete dominance of the local elections? Were you able to vote this past Election Day? What do you hope to see from incoming Mayor Ruffy Biazon and from incoming Congressman Jaime Fresnedi?

You may answer in the comments below. If you prefer to answer privately, you may do so by sending me a direct message online.


Thank you for reading. If you find this article engaging, please click the like button below and also please consider sharing this article to others. If you are looking for a copywriter to create content for your special project or business, check out my services and my portfolio. Feel free to contact me with a private message. Also please feel free to visit my Facebook page Author Carlo Carrasco and follow me on Twitter at  @HavenorFantasy as well as on Tumblr at and on Instagram at

For more South Metro Manila community news and developments, come back here soon. Also say NO to fake news, NO to irresponsible journalism, NO to misinformation, NO to plagiarists, NO to reckless publishers and NO to sinister propaganda when it comes to news and developments. For South Metro Manila community developments, member engagements, commerce and other relevant updates, join the growing South Metro Manila Facebook group at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s